The Oregon Safe Routes to School Network Leadership Committee welcomes long time members to the co-chair positions for the 2018-2019 school year.

Janis McDonald is the City of Portland Safe Routes to School Organizer. Janis joined the SRTS Leadership Committee because she wanted to work with, learn from, and support Safe Routes coordinators around the state.  Janis believes that as a group we create a stronger voice for Safe Routes to School.

Brian Potwin works with Oregon Safe Routes to School, ODOT, City of Bend, and City of Redmond. He is passionate about creative change to promote community health, active transportation and a vibrant local economy.

The Oregon Safe Routes to School Network has been promoting Walk and Bike to School Day since 1999, providing training and resources to schools around Oregon who participate in the international event. The network’s Leadership Committee meets monthly, and member organizations provide staffing, expertise and resources to support kids walking and biking to school. Network members include enthusiastic and engaged parents, teachers, community members, and you! Membership is open to individuals and organizations. For more information check our Oregon Safe Routes to School Network page.